Serving Greeley and
Weld County, Colorado
"The 'P' in la Plante is for Persistence"
Charges of Driving Under the Influence (DUI) of either alcohol or marijuana, or Driving While Ability Impaired (DWAI) are extremely serious, and the stakes are very high with a conviction for either offense, likely to create great difficulties for you in the future.
This is not the time to go with it alone in the legal system, even if you feel that you have been wrongfully accused. You need an aggressive, persistent, and skilled attorney like Ann la Plante on your side.
DUI (Driving Under the Influence) is when you have consumed enough alcohol or drugs (or both), to have rendered you incapable of safely operating a vehicle due to an impairment of judgment or physical control. A blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08 or above is considered to be excessive and will put you in the DUI category.
You are charged with DWAI (Driving While Ability Impaired) if your blood alcohol content (BAC) is between 0.05 and 0.08 while driving. DWAI is valid even if you have passed a roadside test and were driving safely.
9-months to 1-year driver's license suspension
Up to a $1,000 fine
From 5 days to 365 days time in jail, which may be suspended
Up to a 96-hour sentence of community service
When charged with either DUI or DWAI you are fighting two battles at once - one in court and the other with the DMV. When you receive a Notice of Revocation of your driver's license from the Colorado DMV you have only 7 days to request a hearing - if you fail to do so during that time, your license will be automatically revoked.
Don't run the risk of losing your license - call Ann la Plante, Attorney at Law today at 970-304-9205 and schedule your appointment.
License suspension and loss of 8 points
Up to a $500 fine
From 2 days to 180 days in jail, which may be suspended
Up to a 48-hour sentence of community service